Trail Mix

15 Oct

I love the idea of things in bulk.

Being able to pick out food and scoop as much as you want into little containers.  That makes me happy.

Dried fruits, nuts, and little balls of granola in bins make me happy.

Not having to hack through layers of plastic packaging makes me happy

I went bulk crazy today.

I bought apricots, cherries, craisins, apples, almonds, and those little salty sesame sticks that show up in trail mix – the ones that are so good they’re like crack.  I would have bought walnuts, too, but they were out.

Then I divvied them up, poured them into jars, and called it trail mix.  It made seven little four-ounce jars.  There’s only six in the picture because it was so good I ate a jar before taking a picture.  And I finished eating a jar while writing this post.

Yum.

TRAIL MIX

  • 3/4 c. sesame sticks
  • 1/4 c. almonds
  • 1/2 c. dried cherries
  • 1/4 c. dried apple rings, chopped
  • 1/2 c. dried apricots, chopped
Super simple. Either mix all the ingredients up in a bowl and then split it up, or you can layer it in the jars like I did.

Leave a comment