To Sir, With Love…

19 Jun

Hey, Daddy.  Happy Father’s Day.

This is one of those things where I start to try to put my feelings to song – but we all know my brother is better at that than I am – so let’s just cut to the chase and I’ll just tell you how great you are and make you breakfast, seeing as we all know that that’s my strong point.

I have some pictures for you, Daddy.  Some I included because they’re great pictures of us, and some just because they prove that I used to be cute.

Sort of.

You, like many before you, have learned well from your father.

And you, in turn, have passed that knowledge on to your children.

You taught me how to smile…

…and how to frown.

You taught me how to have fun…

…and to relax.

You taught me everything I know about sports – which isn’t saying much.

But most importantly, you taught me (and my brother) how to be sexy beasts who are comfortable in their own skin.

Honestly, Dad.  I’m not really sure why you ever went out in public with us.

Oh, wait…

Ok…

It’s all making sense now…

Happy Father’s Day, Daddy – and thanks for all the wisdom you’ve passed on to Tommy and me.  It’ll take years of therapy to erase those lessons – but we love you just the same.

3 Responses to “To Sir, With Love…”

  1. Heather Nichols June 19, 2011 at 1:28 am #

    I love all the pictures! (And you’re still cute, BTW.)

    Happy Father’s Day, Uncle Mike! 🙂 ❤

  2. rene June 19, 2011 at 10:06 am #

    Loved seeing the pictures as well. Amy you’re the best, how creative.. And your GREAT with words. God did bless you with Dad and Mom, we love you all.

  3. blogaboutablog July 30, 2011 at 9:01 pm #

    i can’t believe i missed this a month ago (grad school is eating my brain) but I LOVE THIS so adorable and seriously you make me cry every time you write one of these miss am… miss you to the moon and back xoxo

Leave a Reply

