On Beach Quiche, Veggies, and Summer

27 May

This summer is a summer about giving things up.

I’m giving up sugar – refined sugar, that white stuff that comes in a bag or the nasty high-fructose corn syrup that’s the first ingredient on just about every food label – for summer.

No, wait!  Please don’t go.  Stay here for a while, please?  I still have a recipe for you!  In fact, I have two just to make it up to you.

I have also given up not being a runner this summer.  That’s a really awkward way of saying, I’m going to start running this summer.

So, maybe for the next few months, my blog will look a little different.  No more cookies and cupcakes and frosting.  But instead, salads and soups and sandwiches and dips and all kinds of other delicious unsugar items that runners eat.

Not that I’m an expert on what runners eat.  But I can imagine…

Today is about vegetables, because vegetables are flippin’ awesome.  It’s also about me making food to bring to the beach this weekend.

Oh yeah, my family’s going to the beach this weekend.

Tonight, after getting to the beach house we’ve rented, we’re having quiche.  With lots of vegetables.

Tomorrow, for lunch, I’ll have the chick pea salad I just finished throwing together.  I’ve made this salad before, but it’s gone through renovation.  I pimped the chick pea and stuffed it into lettuce leaves.  Yum.

So, while I’m at the beach, keep yourself busy and full of veggies with these recipes, and I promise I’ll be back with more.

CHICK PEA SALAD
  • 3 cans chick peas, mashed up with a potato masher or in a food processor
  • 1 1/2 onions, chopped
  • 1 c. raisins
  • 1-ish c. walnuts, chopped
  • 2 1/2 tsp. curry powder
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • enough vegan mayo to get the whole thing to stick to itself.
Dump all your ingredients in a bowl, mix it up, and serve in lettuce leaves.
Unfortunately, I don’t have a picture for this recipe.  It hopped down into my stomach before the light would cooperate for me to take a picture.  My bad…

QUICHE

  • 1 (9 inch) unbaked 9 inch pie crust
  • 1 head of broccoli, chopped
  • 1 package of frozen spinach, defrosted and squeezed well to remove excess water
  • 2 good sized carrots, chopped
  • 1 onion, finely chopped
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 pound firm tofu, drained
  • 1/2 c. soy milk
  • 1/4 tsp. Dijon mustard
  • 3/4 tsp. salt
  • 1/4 tsp. ground nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp. ground red pepper
  • black pepper to taste
  • 2 tbsp. grated vegan Parmesan cheese (I used Daiya cheddar)
Preheat your oven to 400°F.  Saute the onion in a pan with about a tablespoon of olive oil.  Then add the carrot, garlic, and broccoli.  Cook for just a few minutes until you’ve kinda-sorta cooked all the veggies.
Stick the tofu, soy milk, mustard, salt, pepper, and nutmeg in a blender and whirl it until it’s nice and smooth.  Then, toss the veggies and grated cheese into the tofu mixture and combine.  Shlorp the whole thing into your pie crust and bake for about 35 minutes.
2 Responses to “On Beach Quiche, Veggies, and Summer”

  1. Carina May 27, 2011 at 7:32 pm #

    what? no baking?

  2. Jamie Ferraro May 29, 2011 at 3:12 pm #

    Amy Barth, runners eat chocolate. lots and lots of chocolate. haha 🙂
    Can’t wait to start running with you!

Leave a Reply

