Mother’s Day

8 May

Hey mama.  It’s me.  Remember me?

I’m your loser daughter who’s not driving down to see you this weekend.  Wait… I can’t drive down because I don’t have a car up here.  Because you made me leave it at home this year.

Okay, I don’t feel so bad now.

I just wanted to tell you how much I love you.  And how bummed I am that I can’t be there to give you a wet, sloppy mother’s day kiss and a big ol’ bear hug.  So I guess this will have to do.

This is a photo tribute to you on Mother’s Day.  You’ll have to excuse the awful quality of most of the pictures.  I was scanning pictures of scanned pictures because I can’t raid your photo albums when I’m in Washington and your albums are in Oregon.  And only about half of the photos that I scanned actually went through.  Too bad you weren’t here to help me troubleshoot.  You’re good at that.

I love you, mom.

I love that you love your family.

I love that you would do anything for us.

I love that you taught me and my brother how to be sexy.

And how to cook an awesome meal  from whatever the hell is in the fridge at any given time.

I love that you know how to have a good time.

And that you’re teaching me how to laugh at myself when I do stupid things.

I love that you’re more immature than me, and that your immaturity is starting to rub off on me.

I love that you taught me how to win an argument with my printer.

I love that we bond through hidden sticky note notes.

 

I love that every time I go somewhere, you hide love notes in my luggage.

I love that when you send me things at college that I left at home, you always put stickers on the package, and hide a treat inside.

I love all the little things about you.  All the things that make you my mamacita.

Te quiero hasta la luna y de vuelta otra vez…

Happy Mother’s Day, Mom!

3 Responses to “Mother’s Day”

  1. Mamacita May 8, 2011 at 9:42 am #

    Okay, you have succeeded- you made you mother cry again. I love you, sweet pea. How is that just when I think I can’t love you any more, you always dream up something that makes me love you more?

    • bakerbarth May 8, 2011 at 10:39 am #

      I dunno, but I guess I’m really good at it. ❤

  2. blogaboutablog May 10, 2011 at 2:06 pm #

    you guuuuuyyyys… you just made ME cry! i love you both gobs and gobs!

Leave a Reply

