On turning twenty…

17 Apr

I like to read food blogs.

Let me rephrase that:  I like to read good food blogs.

This is how I decide if a food blog is a good food blog:

–Their ability to frost cupcakes
–Their ability to take good pictures
–Their ability to write.
–Their ability to make me like them.  (Example:  bloggers that make me feel like they’re  a better baker than I am, or have a snarky tone to their writing do not make the cut)
–The quality of their recipes
–The fact that they don’t put a picture in between each instruction of their recipe.  This is one of my biggest blogger pet peeves.  I know how to mix flour and sugar together.  I know how to scoop cupcake batter into cupcake tins to fill them 3/4 of the way full.  In fact, I’m pretty good at it.  I don’t need you to show me how to mix up the ingredients, I want to see the finished product!

With that said, I also like to steal ideas from good baking blogs.  One blogger I’ve fell in love with over the past few months is Joy.  She’s funny, witty, creative, honest, takes wonderful pictures of her wonderful recipes, and she has a cat.  Icing on the cake, right?

Recently Joy posted an idea that I loved.  She’s doing thirty things before she turns thirty.  I like that idea, so I’m going to steal it.  I hope that’s okay with you, Joy.

I will turn twenty exactly five months from today.

I am going to do twenty things before I turn twenty.  For some of these, I used ideas from Joy’s blog.  Some of them are my ideas, some of them are ideas I found online in random places.  These are my twenty things:

1.  successfully frost and decorate 1 layer cake (I have already done this, just FYI, but I haven’t done cakes in a long time)

2.  take 2 art classes ✔

3.  make 3 successful different milks – almond, walnut, oatmeal, cashew? and pick my favorite

4.   take 4 naps in the sun

5.  make 5 colored pencil drawings and give them away to people ✔

6.  make 6 dozen muffins to give to the construction workers on campus

7.  recruit 7 people to walk in the Brain Tumor walk in August ✔

8.  read 8 books for fun ✔

9.  try 9 new vegan spots in Portland ✔

10.  go to farmers’ markets 10 times this summer and buy fresh produce ✔

11.  sing 11 songs with the windows open while driving along a busy street. ✔

12.  yarn bomb 12 items

13.  spend 13 hours helping my mother in the garden

14.  do 14 special things for my parents on their anniversary on the 14th of July ✔

15.  send 15 postcards to 15 different people

16.  give 16 high fives to 16 different people for no reason ✔

17.  place 17 lucky dimes heads up ✔

18.  meditate for 18 minutes once a week ✔

19.  stick 19 smiley face stickers on 19 bathroom stall doors

20.  make 20 successful petit fours ✔

5 Responses to “On turning twenty…”

  1. Becky April 17, 2011 at 1:24 pm #

    if you’d like to send a postcard or a colored pencil drawing my way i’d love one! even a baked good hahaha

    box 60731
    1365 Agate st
    Eugene OR 97403

    or at my house address if its summer!

    i love youuuu and i cant believe we are going to be twenty!

  2. Carina April 17, 2011 at 2:28 pm #

    Wow! I think I might have to steal this idea too! Though I suppose I would have to come up with diiuble good ideas since I have double the time!

  3. Emily April 18, 2011 at 2:53 pm #

    DAWWW IS THAT LITTLE AMY! Precious 🙂

Leave a Reply

