Just Another Chocolate Cupcake

13 Feb

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Today has been… meh.  I’m going to whine for just a few minutes.

I was up late last night due to spa night with the girls in my wing, and actually slept in this morning (8:00am is sleeping in, right?).  Then I put myself together and went down the University Center to have some breakfast… maybe.  The amazing sous chef made me my very own vegan pancakes and tofu scramble (I ate way too much, but it was totally worth it).

It must have been a combination of my full tummy and not so much sleep last night or maybe just a lack of motivation, but by the time I got back to my room to tackle my Spanish homework, I crashed.  I tried as hard as I could to focus, but couldn’t.  All I could think about was how nice it would be to curl up in bed and take a little siesta. But it was sooooo beautiful out today that I couldn’t bear the thought of wasting precious hours of sunshine, especially since the forecast for the next week or so is rain, rain, rain, and oh yes – more rain.  So I hopped on my bike and headed out to the bookstore, hoping that the combination of sun, activity, and the joy of brand new drawing pencils would wake me up.

And it did!  Until I got back to my room.

So then, I figured I would bake, because that’s always a valid answer to an overload of unfinished homework.  But, again my plans were foiled as the produce (which shall remain nameless, because the recipe is yet to come) that I was planning on making cupcakes with were rotten.

Awesome.

Not to mention the fact that my peace and quiet in the lounge was slowly dissipating into not-so-peaceful quiet due to people hanging out in my baking space (ok, fine – it’s not my space, but I do like to be able to watch Food Network while I bake, and this impromptu hang out was messing with my zen).  So… I went back to my list of chocolate flavors, and picked a different one.

I think I’ve already proven to you that blueberry and cream cheese are a match made in heaven.  But what about chocolate, blueberry, and cream cheese?

Oh, yes.  This is what we call the cure-all for the shitty day.  The panacea for foiled plans.  The perfect dose of chocolate and fruit and creamy creamy cream cheese.

You know  you want it.

CHOCOLATE BLUEBERRY CUPCAKES

  • 1 1/2 c. AP flour
  • 3/4 c. sugar
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/3 c. cocoa powder
  • 3/4 c. soy milk
  • 1/4 c. blueberry preserves
  • 1/3 c. oil
  • 1 tbsp. white vinegar
  • 2 tsp. almond extract
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract

Preheat oven to 350°F and prep your cupcake tin.  In a bowl, mix the dry ingredients.  Then, in a separate bowl, mix the wet.  Mix the two together just until combined.  Scoop into your cupcake tin and bake for 20 – 25 minutes.

Fill with cream cheese frosting with some blueberry preserves mixed in, then top off with cream cheese frosting and enjoy.

Leave a Reply

