‘Tis the Season for Cookies

1 Dec

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Today sucked.

I woke up with a sore throat and an earache.  I had to force myself to eat something for breakfast because I had no appetite whatsoever.

Then I went to class with my nice warm cup of tea to try to soothe my throat, and ended up spilling it all over my arms, desk, and pants (I still have a burn mark on my arm).  I ran out of the room to grab some paper towels right as my prof walked in – I’m pretty sure she thought it was something she said.

After class, I went on our school website to order a ‘sick meal’ from the University Center, but none of their options are vegan.  Then I looked up the menu for the day to see what the soups were.  No vegan soups.  Monday, two out of the three soups they served were vegan and today, the one day I actually wanted a bowl of soup – nothing.

So I did everything I knew my mother would tell me to do (or do for me) if she were here:  drank warm fluids, took Tylenol, tried to rest.

I still felt like crap.

But then I remembered that today is December 1st.  The first day that I can make Christmas cookies and not get the stink-eye from society.  So I did.

Mom, these cookies are for you.

Every year, my mom and I make peanut butter cookies with Hershey’s  kisses in the middle.  Some people call them ‘peanut butter blossoms,’ but my mother, sophisticated, mature woman that she is (bless her heart), calls them ‘tit cookies’ – because, well, you know…

many thanks to my roommate for posing for this picture :0)

Anyway, every year we make these, and one of the big rituals is unwrapping all the Hershey’s kisses.  But, since I’m vegan now, and Hershey’s chocolate has milk in it, I decided to make a mini version of these cookies and use chocolate chips instead.

So I made myself the first batch of many Christmas cookies to come this season.  My throat doesn’t feel any better, and my ears still hurt, but at least my spirits are lifted, and so will yours when you make these cookies.

PEANUT BUTTER COOKIES (a veganized Mrs. Fields recipe)

  • 2 c. AP flour
  • 1/2 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1 1/4 c. brown sugar
  • 1 1/4 c. white sugar
  • 1 c. non-dairy margarine
  • 3 eggs worth of Ener-G and water
  • 1 c. peanut butter
  • 2 tsp. vanilla extract

Preheat oven to 300°F.  In a large bowl, cream the sugars, margarine, and peanut butter.  Add the vanilla and egg replacer.  Add the dry ingredients and mix at low speed until just combined.  Don’t overmix!

Drop onto a cookie sheet with parchment paper, and bake for about 7 – 10 minutes.

Once they come out of the oven, stick a chocolate chip in the middle before they cool completely, then enjoy!

One Response to “‘Tis the Season for Cookies”

  1. Carina December 2, 2010 at 4:22 pm #

    sick days suck!at least it wasm’t something worse than tea; like say… a chocolate frapacino! at least you can find vegan soups most days; there is no vegan food at a culinary school dining hall except for the iceberg and fixings at the salad bar!

    Make as many cookies as you want! I sure am!

Leave a Reply

