Chocolate Peanut Butter Cupcakes

19 Oct

It’s October, right?  And October is the month of Halloween.  I’m not a huge fan of the holiday, honestly.  Don’t get me wrong.  I love dressing up like a weirdo and the sugar-induced coma that comes the day after.  But I don’t like being scared.  Don’t like rollercoasters, scary movies, creepy costumes – nope, no way, nuh-uh.

What I do like about Halloween is the candy.  My family always had the best candy, too.  My mom would always buy these chocolate eyeballs, and every year I would steal as many of them as I could get my hands on.  They were fudge, caramel, and PEANUT BUTTER filled chocolate eyeballs.  YUM.  And then there’s the Reeses Peanut Butter Cups.  But, sadly, neither of these candies are vegan.  Solution?  Cupcakes!  Duh…

I have a confession.  I cheated on these cupcakes.  I used a recipe that I’ve already posted on my blog for the cakes.  Whoops.  But I think you’ll forgive me after you’ve tasted them.  Just trust me on this one, ok?

CHOCOLATE CUPCAKES

  • 1 1/2 c. AP flour
  • 3/4 c. sugar
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/4 c. unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 1/2 tsp/ vanilla extract
  • Almond extract – use your judgement
  • 1/3 c. canola oil
  • 1 tbsp. white vinegar
  • 1 c. cold water

Preheat oven to 350°F.  Prep your cupcake tins.  Combine dry ingredients.  Combine wet ingredients.  Make a well in the dry ingredients and add the wet.  Mix just until combined.  (the batter might be a little lumpy – don’t worry, they will turn out great!)   Bake for about 15 minutes on this one.  This made exactly twelve cupcakes for me.

 

PEANUT BUTTER FROSTING

  • 1/2 c. plus some peanut butter
  • Vanilla extract
  • Soy milk (don’t kill me, I didn’t measure!)
  • 4 c. powdered sugar

Cream peanut butter and vanilla, add the powdered sugar a cup at a time.  After each addition, I had to add a little soy milk.

 

Top off your cupcakes and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

